Getting the balance

Tricky. We’re all busy – busier all the time, it seems.

I write early in the morning, usually around 6.00 – assisted by the fact that we have to get up to get the son to Lycee (college). If I get anything from 20 mins to an hour and a half done, the day feels . . . established – moving the right way. If I don’t – like this morning . . .well, it’s not a good start.

So, the balance: ‘media visibility’ or whatever it might be termed: Facebook, blogs, Linkedin and the rest of it, against getting any actual work done.

I can’t keep up with it all, even though I know it’s probably essential in this screen-driven era, and what an incredible thing it is too – to be able to access information about anything from sock-darning to nuclear fission.

Even now as I write I am aware of all the other stuff building up . . . I have too many blogs (must delete some) too many emails to deal with, there are pages to be liked, connections to be confirmed. I locked my self out of internet banking (again) this morning. There is another writer called Kate Hardy (very successful one with mega sales in romance) I keep meaning to write to her and ask if she could prod anyone looking for me (the other K.H with an A) in my direction. Linkedin needs updating. Facebook needs updating. The photo folders need editing. I must back everything up. I should be sending chapters to agents.

I’m going into the garden to dig. Apparently this produces the same endorphins as running (something to do with inhaling earth-bound bacteria). Then I’ll write what I should have written this morning.

IMG_5810.jpgMore walking and thinking, a little less computer.

Leave a Reply

